About the WV Expanded School of Mental Health

The West Virginia Expanded School Mental Health (ESMH) initiative was formed in 2007 as a partnership and shared commitment between the West Virginia Department of Education, the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources Bureau for Behavioral Health, and the Marshall University School of Medicine to expand access to mental health services for all students through a multitiered system of supports.

Over the past fourteen years, West Virginia has been a national leader in the Expanded School Mental Health movement. The number of expanded school mental health sites across the state has expanded under the guidance of a statewide Steering Team of collaborative partners.  In 2021, 64 Expanded School Mental Health schools are funded by WV DHHR Bureau for Behavioral Health and additional sites are self-implementing via diversified funding to deliver three-tiered system supports. The number of sites implementing ESMH continues to grow.  

Upcoming Trainings

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Partner Information

West Virginia Department of Health & Human Resources

Bureau for Behavioral Health

West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE)

Office of Student Support & Well-being

Marshall University School Health Technical Assistance Center

Division of Community Health