WV ESMH Steering Team

One of the fundamental roles of a team is to set direction through a clearly defined mission and vision. The diverse state-level WV ESMH Steering Team provides guidance in best practices for planning and implementing the Expanded School Mental Health framework throughout West Virginia.

The steering team also contributes to state-level policy integration of ESMH to remove barriers and support the implementation of the framework with fidelity.

Our Mission

To empower schools and their partners to create positive cultures through integrated frameworks that nurture all students’ social-emotional wellbeing and academic success.

Our Shared Vision

All students in WV will benefit from a school environment that supports social-emotional wellbeing to achieve their full potential.

The state ESMH Steering Team is currently comprised of 30 members representing over 20 entities statewide.

Since 2007, the ESMH Steering Team has developed a comprehensive Expanded School Mental Health Model and website, providing best practice resources to support schools and community providers in effectively integrating a system of mental health supports in schools.

In 2006, as the needs for mental health services in schools became apparent, a small group of professionals from the WV Department of Education, the WV DHHR Bureau for Behavioral Health, and the Marshall University School of Medicine discussed working together to provide a system of mental health supports for students in WV schools. In 2007, a state Expanded School Mental Health Steering Team was formed between the WV Department of Education, The WV DHHR Bureau for Behavioral Health, Marshall University School of Medicine, and a couple of mental health agencies.  The work of the Steering Team was formally approved and made official by a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) that was signed by the WVDE Superintendent and the WVDHHR Commissioner in 2007, showing a shared commitment to improving school mental health services for our students.  

STRATEGIC PRIORITIES, GOALS and STRATEGIES

To carry out the mission, four Strategic Priorities were agreed upon to frame future directions of the initiative: 

  • Outreach and Communications
  • Capacity Building and Fidelity to the Multi-Tiered Model
  • Expansion and Sustainability
  • Strong Infrastructure

WVESMH Steering Team

Stephanie Hayes, Co-Chair

Coordinator of School Counseling

Federal Programs and Support,

Student Support and Well-Being

West Virginia Department of Education

stephanie.hayes@k12.wv.us

Tahnee Bryant, Co-Chair

Office Director, Children’s Behavioral Health

WV Bureau for Behavioral Health

Tahnee.l.bryant@wv.gov

Tiffany Pittman, Facilitator

School Mental Health Coordinator

School Health Technical Assistance Center

Division of Community Health

Marshall University School of Medicine

pittman6@marshall.edu

Jenny Anderson

Director

Families Leading Change

janderson@ourfuturewv.org

Jessica Ball

Service Array Coordinator

WV Bureau for Children and Families

WV Department of Health and Human Resources

jessical.l.ball@wv.gov

Kenneth Birchfield

Wyoming County Clinic Administrator

Southern Highlands CMHC

kennethbirchfield@shcmhc.com

Perry Blankenship

Coordinator of Student Services, Attendance, Nutrition, and Mental Health Services

McDowell County Schools

perry.blankenship@k12.wv.us

Sarah Brown

Director

Violence & Injury Prevention Program

Office of Maternal Child Family Health

West Virginia Bureau for Public Health

Sarah.L.Brown@wv.gov

Felicia Bush

Chief Executive Officer

Harmony Mental Health

felicia@harmonymh.org

Deana Cummings

Regional Family Advocate

Family Advocacy, Support & Training
Legal Aid of WV

dbragg@lawv.net

Andrea Darr

Director

WV Center for Children’s Justice,
WV State Police, Crimes Against Children Unit

Andrea.L.Darr@wv.gov

Barri Faucett

Director

Adolescent Suicide Prevention and Early Intervention/Prevent Suicide WV
Prestera Center 

barri.faucett@prestera.org

Lori Garrett-Bumba

Director of Prevention Services

Youth Service Systems, Inc.

lori.impactov@gmail.com

Joni Greenberg

Behavior Health Coordinator

Berkeley County Schools

jgreenbe@k12.wv.us

John Kennedy

School-Based/Behavioral Health Coordinator

WV Primary Care Association

john.kennedy@wvpca.org

Eric Limegrover

Director, Psychological Services

Westbrook Health Services, Inc.
Comprehensive Behavioral Health Center

elimegrover@westbrookhealth.com

Teresa Marks

Director

Division of Infant, Child and Adolescent Health

Office of Maternal Child Family Health

West Virginia Bureau for Public Health

Teresa.D.Marks@wv.gov

Christine Miller

Superintendent

Taylor County Schools

cemiller@k12.wv.us

Kelly Mordecki

Coordinator, School Mental Health

Federal Programs and Support,
Student Support and Well-Being
West Virginia Department of Education

kmordecki@k12.wv.us

Jo Anne McNemar

Partnerships for Success Program Director

Office of Children, Youth and Families
WV Bureau for Behavioral Health

Jo.a.mcnemar@wv.gov

Donna Pauley-Wilson

Director of Nursing & Clinical Services

Children with Special Health Care Needs Program

Office of Maternal Child Family Health
West Virginia Bureau for Public Health

Donna.L.PauleyWilson@wv.gov

Anastasia Riley

PBS Program Manager

WVU Center for Excellence in Disabilities

aheasley@hsc.wvu.edu

Cari Stone

Behavioral Health Disabilities Specialist

Office of Children, Youth and Families
WV Bureau of Behavioral Health

cari.j.stone@wv.gov

Helen Wells

School Psychologist

Pleasants County School

hwells@k12.wv.us

Grace Wine

Parent Advocate

speakout4hope@gmail.com

Lisa Zappia

Executive Director CEO

Prestera Center for Behavioral Health

lisa.zappia@prestera.org